Sewing Easy

I love to sew stuff.  I dream about sewing.  That’s how weird I am.  Well now you know.  Run away!   Lol.  I have been stuck in an extended stay hotel while My Guy finishes up a contract here … but I have my machine and scissors and pins so, sew!

Last time I saw my number three daughter, she gave me a bag of clothes that needed … something.  But when I look at old clothes, I see stuff.  Like this  little knit dress my daughter gave me.  It has tears at the waist and several little holes in the skirt in different places.  It has a sparkly bodice but otherwise, it’s time for the trash?  But I saw ruffles …

  
I found the tulle at Hobby Lobby (love that store).  See how the sparkles in it kind of match the bodice?!   Then I thought, more ruffles … Or not?   Yes, more.  

  
Yes, and also some pretty lace ribbon found at Hobby Lobby.  Now it looks so much prettier and it can be worn for a few more seasons.  I think it’s fun to try to make something out of clothing that would otherwise go to Goodwill.  Next there were these jeans that the little girls didn’t like.  

  
I ripped the inner seam out and inserted fabric and a ribbon edge.  And to another pair, I got all steam punk and added all kinds of stuff.  

   
   It’s exciting to create something out of just some yardage as well.      I especially love making little girl dresses.   I have a couple of patterns I bought and I got busy.  The dresses are simple.  No buttons or zippers.  Takes maybe three hours total each.  If I cut two at the same time, it would be quicker.  

   
   

I added ribbon in the back so I didn’t have to do buttons and because I like the fru-fru.  I used a fancy heart embroidery at the upper bodice.  I switched up the bodice a bit and instead of sewing into the waist, I left it loose.     Wouldn’t it be pretty with a little lace showing under the hem line?

This one was made using the same pattern:

   
   

I messed with it a little by cutting the bodice in two pieces and sewing it back together and putting some top stitching on both sides, oh, and adding the lace edge.  In the back, I added a ribbon button hole.  I love the strawberry shortcake fabric (purchased at Hobby Lobby).  

This next pattern is so easy.  Really, someone who didn’t know anything about sewing could do it.  

  
The only thing I changed was that I thought a contrasting ruffle would look nice.  First I got approval from my experts (the daughters).  What do you think?   This:  

 

Orrrrrr this? 

 

Yeah, we all liked the contrast better, too.   Here’s the finished dress.  (Fabric from …. You guessed it, Hobby Lobby.). And you notice this fabric has sparkles?   I’m like a crow.  Anything shiny and sparkly, I want.  

  
The only tricky part might be the binding they have you do around the neck and sleeves.  But the instructions are fantastic.  And you could leave it off if you wanted to.  

I wasn’t about to leave the boys out so I made some boxer briefs.  So, so, so simple!

  
And two little short sets that were a breeze to sew up.  The tops are soft knit fabric.  The shorts are cotton.  

   

Didn’t they turn out so cute?   I love the little pocket.  OK.  and last but not least, I made a rag quilt.  

  If you’ve never tried quilting, this is the quilt to start with.  It can be uneven and no one can tell!   You just cut out 6 1/2 inch squares.  1 of the top color.   1 of a solid colored flannel and 1 of your back color.  
   

You make a three layer sandwich of the 6 1/2 inch fabrics with the solid color in the middle.  You sew each sandwich together.   So that the fabric doesn’t shift.   Then you line up your little sandwiches in a pattern you like    And sew them together in rows.  Then sew the rows together to make it as big as you want.   Last,  you snip all the seams so that it gets all raggedy from wear and when it’s washed.  Message me if you need better instructions.  I will be happy to walk you through any of this stuff! 

6 Comments

  1. I hand stitch my stuff and I love it but my fingers totally hate me! Seeing your stuff, I can’t wait to learn machine sewing! Oh and the weird is what made me follow you 😛

    Like

    1. Lol weird. Yes you should definitely learn to machine sew. Its easy and a lot faster than hands sewing stuff. Although just before Christmas, my machine broke right in the middle of making a quilt for a gift. I had to hand sew the rest. Took 10 hours as opposed to probably 1!

      Like

Leave a comment